Welsh call-up thrilled for Powys and Border football stars


A star-studded HOST from Mid Wales and Border has been selected to represent Wales in the upcoming C international match against England.

The Dragons host the Three Lions at Caernarfon Town Oval Ground on Wednesday March 30 with over 700 tickets already sold for a game that has been postponed since 2020 due to the ongoing global pandemic.

Their last clash at Salford’s Peninsula Stadium in 2019 saw the two sides draw 2-2, while the non-League Lions won 3-2 at Barry Town United’s Jenner Park in 2018.

Mark Jones, who took charge of the previous two matches in the Wales C hotseat, will again oversee the proceedings and has named a talent team JD Cymru Premier.

Leo Smith nets for TNS against Glentoran. Photo by Brian Jones.

Jones has named Llanfyllin-based Alex Ramsay, currently No.1 with Bala Town, and TNS goalkeeper Connor Roberts in his roster.

Newtown’s Callum Roberts has also been called up alongside Aberystwyth Town’s Lee Jenkins and TNS’s Danny Davies.

TNS star Leo Smith is also on the team with Llangedwyn-raised Bala Town star Will Evans.

Jones said: “Having missed this opportunity in 2020 due to the pandemic, we are more delighted than ever to welcome England C to the Ring.

“It will be a fantastic occasion in what will be a momentous week for Welsh football.”

Opposite number Paul Fairclough was also relishing the opportunity with his team called up from the Vanarama National League and the Pitching In Isthmian, Northern Premier and Southern Football leagues.

He said: “We are really delighted to confirm that we have accepted an invitation to play this game against Wales C.

“The last two meetings between the two teams have provided plenty of entertainment and a platform for the players to progress in their careers, so we look forward to what should be an exciting game for everyone involved.”

Extra spice is added to the game after England called up Aaron Hayden, Ben Tozer and Paul Mullin with the trio representing Wales-based Wrexham in the Vanarama National League.


About Author

Comments are closed.