Seventeen football stars nominated for PFA Players’ Awards


Seventeen of the best footballers playing in the A-Leagues and Australians playing overseas have been nominated for the 2022 PFA Player Awards.

Stars from domestic competitions, such as the Swiss defender of Western United Leo Lacroix and Melbourne Victory’s Alex Chidiacto the Scottish Socceroos champion Tom Rogic and Chelsea’s league record and two-time winner Sam Kerrthe nominees showcase the exceptional talent on display in Australia and the best players based overseas.

Winners will be revealed at the Dolan Warren Awards on Thursday, May 26, following a vote by PFA members. The nominees were selected by the PFA Awards Committee, made up of former players and Australian football media personalities.

The awards take into account the performances of all players plying their trade in the A-Leagues and Australians based overseas during the 2021-2022 season and recognise, reward and celebrate the significant contribution of established and emerging players to the game .

The PFA Player Awards have been presented annually since 2009, when former Socceroo Tim Cahill won the inaugural PFA Men’s Footballer of the Year. The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year was presented the following season, which was won by Servet Uzunlar in 2010.

PFA Male Footballer of the Year

Two of the best foreign players in the A-League, former Swiss international and Western United defender LeoLacroix and the Premiership-winning French attacking midfielder from Melbourne City FC Florin Berenguer headline the men’s national nominees after terrific seasons in the A-League Men.

Hot off the heels of winning the 2021/22 Scottish Premiership with Celtic, Tom Rogic was nominated after his revival for hoops under Ange Postecoglou. In addition to the SPL title, Rogic won the Scottish Cup and was voted into the PFA Scotland Team of the Year.

The J-League Mitch Langerak, who was named in the 2021 J1 League’s top 11 after breaking his own clean sheet record and setting a record 823 consecutive minutes without conceding a goal, completes the nominees.

Previous winners: Jamie Maclaren (2021), Mat Ryan (2020, 2019, 2015), Aaron Mooy (2018, 2017, 2016), Mile Jedinak (2014), Robbie Kruse (2013), Brett Holman (2012), Matt McKay (2011), Mark Schwarzer (2010), Tim Cahill (2009)

PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year

Four of the Matildas’ best offspring make up the nominees for the 2022 PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year, along with three London-based Australian stars, Sam Kerr, Steph Catley and Caitlin Food join lyon Ellie Charpentier. Carpenter, who was named both the PFA Women’s Footballer and Young Footballer of the Year in 2021, has enjoyed another impressive campaign for club and country and will be aiming to win the 2022 UEFA Women’s Champions League in a tantalizing final against Barcelona in Turin, Italy. , this Saturday.

Arsenal’s Australian duo Catley, who won the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year in 2020, and Food went within a point of the FA Women’s Super League title after campaigns that established their influence in England’s top-flight competition.

Four-time winner of the PFA Award, Kerr ended an incredible record-breaking season with Chelsea. The Matildas striker finished with 29 goals and 8 assists in all competitions, lifting the FA Women’s Super League trophy for the third consecutive time and the FA Women’s Cup for the second consecutive time.

Previous winners: Ellie Carpenter (2021), Steph Catley (2020), Sam Kerr (2013, 2017, 2018, 2019), Lydia Williams (2012, 2016), Katrina Gorry (2014), Elise Kellond-Knight (2011), Servet Uzunlar (2010) )

PFA Harry Kewell Medal

Five of Australia’s top emerging young talents who have shone both domestically and internationally have been nominated for the PFA Young Men’s Footballer of the Year award, known as the Harry Kewell Medal.

Former Sydney FC defender Joel Kingwho transferred to Odense BK in the Danish Superliga, Heart of Midlothian duo Cameron Devlin and Nathaniel Atkinsonthat of Toulouse Denis Genreau and Melbourne City FC Marco Tilio received nominations for their performances for club and country. All five players have participated in one or both of Olyroos Tokyo 2020 Olympic campaigns and Socceroos FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Previous winners: Connor Metcalfe (2021), Liberato Cacace (2020), Chris Ikonomidis (2019), Daniel Arzani (2018), Alex Gersbach (2017), Jamie Maclaren (2016), Mat Ryan (2015, 2014, 2012), Marco Rojas (2013 ), Robbie Kruse (2011), Mitch Langerak (2010), Nikita Rukavytska (2009)

PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year

Consecutive winner of the Young Women’s Footballer of the Year award, Ellie Charpentier is in contention for a record third PFA Young Footballer of the Year title after another excellent spell for the Matildas and Olympique Lyonnais Féminin.

At just 22, Carpenter continues to excel internationally and in Europe, having won the Women’s Division 1 title with Lyon, who finished five points clear of Paris Saint-Germain.

At just 19 years old, Mary Fowler became a future star for the Matildas, completing her third season in Women’s Division 1 for Montpellier and scoring twice in four games in the AFC Women’s Asian Cup for the Matildas in January.

Melbourne Victory Alex Chidiac and Melbourne City FC Holly McNamara impressed both the Nominations Committee and Matildas head coach Tony Gustavsson as both Women’s A-League players were called up for an international friendly against New Zealand and the Women’s Asian Cup of the AFC in India, respectively.

Previous winners: Ellie Carpenter (2020, 2021), Karly Roestbakken (2019), Alex Chidiac (2018, 2017)

Please note that PFA members have received a separate member-only communication to vote on nominees.


About Author

Comments are closed.