Roster Announced for OVAC All-Star Football Game | News, Sports, Jobs


The schedule has moved to July, which means the Ohio Valley summer sporting event of the year is just weeks away.

In fact, to be exact, the annual OVAC Rudy Mumley All-Star Football Game is three weeks away.

Ohio and West Virginia will face off again at Wheeling Island Stadium on July 23 with a scheduled kickoff at 7:15 p.m.

The two head coaches – Mike McKenzie (Ohio) and John Kelley (West Virginia) – know who will join them in training camp, which opens at Wheeling University on July 17.

“Choosing rosters is always the hardest part because there are a lot of really good players in the Ohio Valley,” McKenzie, who is the head coach of Beaver Local, said. “The roster build has been interesting and we’ve had a few changes from the initial roster we returned, but we’re excited about this group.”

Kelley, who is the head coach at Morgantown University High School, is “looking forward” the opportunity to coach the Mountain State gridders “in a big way.”

“It’s like a bucket list item for me,” Kelley, who graduated from Oak Glen, said. “I coached several playoff games, championship games, and coached West Virginia’s North-South game, but I always wanted to be a part of that game. I’ve always been a fan of it and it’s an honor to be chosen.

The Ohio team represents 19 schools from all ends of the conference. Seven schools will send multiple players to participate. St. Clairsville leads all schools – on both sides of the river – with five representatives.

Shadyside and Steubenvile each have three of their recent graduates set to feature in the game. Other Ohio schools with multiple selections are Beaver Local, Bellaire, Fort Frye, and River.

“We really love our skill kids,” McKenzie said. “We have kids that we think are going to fit in very well with what we like to do offensively.”

Similar to McKenzie, Kelley and his coaching staff had some issues with the 32 players listed below.

“We’ve lost four or five kids to middle schools who didn’t want them to play and we’ve had a few dropouts for various reasons,” Kelley said. “We really spent a lot of time on this talking to the coaches and watching the video. We went looking for players we thought could help us win.

Kelley and the West Virginia coaching staff represented 14 different schools and of those, only three had a selection.

University, which won the OVAC 5A title last fall, and Wheeling Park lead with four selections apiece. Morgantown, Wheeling Central, Brooke and Weir all picked a trio of players.

Ohio’s full roster includes:

Dakota Hess, union local; Dorian Jackson, Beaver Local; Austin Creamer, River; Trevor Carman, Harrison Central; Greg Mamula, Steubenville; Brandon Louden, Beallsville; Lucas Otto, St. Clairsville; Jaiden Kesterson, Bellaire; Drew Sefsick, St. Clairsville; Nick Suriano, Steubenville; Tanner Bills, Frontier; Malachi Rose-Burton, Central Monroe; Jacob Jordan, St. Clairsville; Spencer Bliss, Barnesville; Brandon Kinney, Steubenville; Justin Driscoll, Buckeye Local; Caden Kenworthy, Cambridge; Ryan Florence, Shadyside; Joey Balgo, St. Clairsville; Nathan Sprouse, Beaver Local; Casey Brooker, Fort Frye; Hunter Kesserling, Fort Frye; Aiden Snodgrass, Buckeye Trail; Gavin Carpenter, Barnesville; Peyton Hores, Martins Ferry; Mason Van Nest, Shadyside; Tyler Stanley, Wellsville; Colin Oberdick, St. Clairsville; Timmy O’Grady, Bellaire; James Orlando, Indian Creek; Brody Longwell, River; Wyatt Reiman, Shadyside.

West Virginia’s full roster includes:

Adam Dolata, Linsly; Corbin Cross, University; Evan Quering, Madonna; Trent Parsons, South Parkersburg; Brodie Selmon, Linsley; Ayden Baker, Wheeling Central; Carson Yobbagy, spillway; Elija Jackson, University; Nate Shelek, Wheeling Park; Santino Arlia, Madonna; Jacob Morgan, spillway; Luke Secrist, Brooke; Alec Duley, Morgantown; Caleb Ratcliffe, Wheeling Central; Daminn Cunningham, University; Marcus Barnes, Magnolia; Isaac Ball, Cameron; Cody Martos, Wheeling Central; Hunter Nixon, Wheeling Park; Benjamin McCardle, John Marshall; Dylan Conley, Oak Glen; Preston Harman, Morgantown; Colt Thomas, Wheeling Park; Daniel Henderson, University; Grant Neiswonger, John Marshall; De-Shawn Gray, Oak Glen; Jacob Donley, Brooke; CJ Brown, Morgantown; Braden Hupp, Wheeling Park, Myles Rice, Weir; Daniel Rawson, Brooke; Clayton Bryan, Cameron; Jonathan Arnett, Clay-Battelle.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox


About Author

Comments are closed.